…English! It's Fun, Free and useFul!

Idioms with six

All you will see is a girl you once knew,
although she’s dressed up to the nines
at sixes and sevens with you.

(More lyrics below ALLA)

It really KNOCKED ME FOR SIX when I heard Tom was SIX FEET UNDER. I felt especially bad because we had always been AT SIXES AND SEVENS and I had even tried to DEEP-SIX him, which was not easy as he was friends with many people I know. We had this big fight once and were EIGHTY-SIXED from my favorite restaurant. I couldn’t help it – I was just so jealous of his SIX PACK! He didn’t care. Me liking him or not was SIX OF ONE, HALF A DOZEN OF ANOTHER to him.

knock somebody for six
be  surprisde and upset, JÄRKYTTYNYT
six feet under
dead and buried
at sixes and sevens
SEKAISIN; RIIDOISSA, NAPIT VASTAKKAIN
deep-six someone or something
to get rid of someone or something, HANKKIUTUA EROON  (the standard depth SYVYYS of a grave is six feet)
eighty-six/86 something/someone
to throw something away, throw somebody out of a restaurant/pub
a six pack
PYYKKILAUTAVATSA
It’s six of one, half a dozen of another
It’s the same one way or another. IHAN SAMA
a dozen – TUSINA.

Lyrics  – 
Don’t cry for me Argentina

It won’t be easy, you’ll think it strange
When I try to explain how I feel
that I still need your love after all that I’ve done

You won’t believe me
All you will see is a girl you once knew
Although she’s dressed up to the nines    (VIIMEISEN  PÄÄLLEPUKEUTUNUT)
At sixes and sevens with you    (RIIDOISSA)

I had to let it happen, I had to change
Couldn’t stay all my life down at heel   (RÄNSISTYNYT)
Looking out of the window, staying out of the sun

So I chose freedom
Running around, trying everything new
But nothing impressed me at all    (TEHDÄ VAIKUTUS)
I never expected it to   (OLETTAA)

Chorus:

Don’t cry for me Argentina
The truth is I never left you
All through my wild days
My mad existence
I kept my promise
Don’t keep your distance   (VÄLTELLÄ)

And as for fortune, and as for fame
I never invited them in
Though it seemed to the world they were all I desired

They are illusions
They are not the solutions they promised to be
The answer was here all the time
I love you and hope you love me

Don’t cry for me Argentina

(chorus)

Have I said too much?
There’s nothing more I can think of to say to you.
But all you have to do is look at me to know
That every word is true


Idioms with 5
Idioms with 4
Idioms with 3
Idioms with 2, part 2
Idioms with 2, part 1
Idioms with 1, parts 1, 2, and 3

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud